Our axes of work

The coordination of the different teams

DHUNE’s mission is to build bridges between basic research, clinical research, social sciences, neuroscience, neuroimaging teams, education, and private companies involved in the treatment of neurodegenerative diseases.

The program mobilizes a large concentration of multidisciplinary experts who benefit from a real complementarity of the different structures and pool their platforms and resources towards a common goal: the fight against neurodegenerative diseases to achieve concrete results in less than 5 years

Improved Care

DHUNE aims to optimize the clinical diagnosis to improve the management of patients with neurodegenerative diseases and the organization of care.

Teams collaborate for a better understanding of genetic factors, molecular and cellular physiopathology to optimize the prediction of the natural evolution of these diseases, identify appropriate treatments and promote the proper use of drugs.

Biomarkers identification and Modelisation

DHUNE seeks to identify new biomarkers for the different neurodegenerative diseases, coupled with modeling thanks to brain imaging (virtual brain) to better understand the common and different neurobiological data between neurodegenerative diseases.

DHUNE benefits from exceptional means, high-tech equipment such as the MRI 7T, the only device of this type available in hospitals in France, the PET scanner and the Gamma Knife; and the help of expert structures such as the Clinical Investigation Center

Pharmocology and Innovative Therapies


DHUNE encourages the development of innovative individualized therapies adapted to each type of patient and their environment.

The program seeks to optimize medication intake and evaluate their effects and actions in the patient’s daily life. Pharmacoepidemiology enables the long-term follow-up of large patient populations and allows the exploration of new hypotheses.

To better understand the daily lives of patients, involve them in their care and treatment, DHUNE has established several partnerships with patient and caregiver associations (France Alzheimer, CISS, France Parkinson, PACASEP, UNISEP …).

Infrastructures

DHUNE plans to create a Neuroscience Business Center (NBC) on the Timone campus, which will host start-ups and more mature companies dedicated to R & D, services and industrial biotechnology.

NBC will offer shared facilities to promote scientific breakthroughs and business growth. In the long term, it will make it possible to exploit the results industrially and to help the development and European attractiveness of the neuropole.
Clinicians, researchers, training organizations, biotechnology companies, pharmaceutical companies, will be closely associated in a multidisciplinary group around common goals to advance research.

Education and Training

Supported by the A * MIDEX Foundation (Aix-Marseille University), the educational program of DHUNE aims to train a whole new generation of scientists and doctors in a interdisciplinary front-line environment in order to multiply their general and specialized skills as well as their career prospects, both nationally and internationally

This program already has the support and involvement of universities and biotechnology companies at European level and includes the optimization of the content of licenses, Masters and Doctorates in Neuroscience.

Technologies transfert

DHUNE benefits from the full support of industrial partners as well as large pharmaceutical companies (Ipsen, Sanofi) who have officially agreed to join the initiative and are part of its Expert Council.

The program has established strong links with most companies concerned with neurodegenerative diseases in the biomedical (Medtronic, Boston Scientific, Siemens, GE) and pharmaceutical (Roche, Novartis, GSK, Servier, Teva, Astra Zeneca, Lundbeck, J & J, Boehringer Ingelheim, Eli Lilly).
These long-term collaborations promote technology transfer, update training programs, launch new clinical trials and accelerate the release of the latest technological advances.

DHUNE is also involved in the development of new computerized tools (web interface, mobile applications) for the diagnosis, management and treatment of neurodegenerative diseases.

Communication

DHUNE attaches great importance to communication with the general public and professionals concerned with neurodegenerative diseases. Its annual communication plan aims to raise awareness of these diseases, and highlight advances in basic research such as industrial initiatives that bring hope to patients and their families.

Nos axes de travail

La coordination des différentes équipes

DHUNE a pour mission d’établir des passerelles entre la recherche fondamentale, la recherche clinique, les sciences sociales, les neurosciences, les les équipes de neuro-imagerie, l’enseignement, et les entreprises privées impliquées dans le traitement des maladies neurodégénératives.

Le programme mobilise une concentration importante d’experts pluridisciplinaires qui bénéficient d’une réelle complémentarité des différentes structures et mutualisent leurs plates-formes et leurs ressources vers un but commun : la lutte contre les maladies neurodégénératives pour obtenir des résultats concrets en moins de 5 ans

L’amélioration de la prise en charge

DHUNE a pour ambition d’optimiser le diagnostic clinique afin d’améliorer la prise en charge des patients atteints de maladies neurodégénératives et l’organisation des soins.

Les équipes collaborent pour une meilleure compréhension des facteurs génétiques, de la physiopathologie moléculaire et cellulaire afin d’optimiser la prédiction de l’évolution naturelle de ces maladies, identifier les
traitements appropriés et favoriser le bon usage des médicaments.

Identification des biomarqueurs et modélisation

DHUNE cherche à identifier de nouveaux biomarqueurs pour les différentes maladies neurodégénératives, couplés à la modélisation grâce notamment à l’imagerie cérébrale (cerveau virtuel) afin de mieux comprendre les les données neurobiologiques communes et différentes entre les maladies neurodégénératives.

DHUNE bénéficie de moyens exceptionnels, des équipements de haute technologie tels que l’IRM 7T,
seul appareil de ce type disponible en hôpital en France, le Scanner TEP et le Gamma Knife ; et l’aide de structures expertes telles que le Centre d’Investigation Clinique.

Pharmacologie et Thérapies innovantes

DHUNE encourage le développement de thérapies novatrices individualisées, adaptées à chaque type de patient et son environnement.

Le programme cherche à optimiser les prises de médicaments et à évaluer leurs effets et actions dans le quotidien du patient. La Pharmacoépidémiologie permet le suivi au long terme de larges populations de patients et autorise à
explorer de nouvelles hypothèses.

Pour mieux comprendre le quotidien des patients, les impliquer dans leur prise en charge et leur traitement, DHUNE a établi plusieurs partenariats avec les associations de patients et de soignants (France Alzheimer, CISS, France Parkinson, PACASEP, UNISEP …).

Infrastructures

DHUNE prévoit la création d’un Centre d’affaires Neuroscience (NBC) dans le campus de la Timone qui accueillera les start-ups et les sociétés plus matures dédiées à la R&D, aux services et à la biotechnologie industrielle.

La NBC offrira des installations partagées dans le but de favoriser les avancées scientifiques et la croissance des entreprises. Elle permettre à terme, d’exploiter industriellement les résultats et
d’aider au développement et à l’attractivité européenne du neuropôle.
Cliniciens, chercheurs, structures de formation, entreprises de biotechnologie, sociétés pharmaceutiques, seront étroitement associés au sein d’un groupe multidisciplinaire autour d’objectifs communs pour faire avancer la recherche

Enseignements et Formations

Soutenu par la Fondation A*MIDEX (Aix-Marseille Université), le programme d’enseignement de DHUNE prévoit de former une toute nouvelle génération de scientifiques et de médecins dans un environnement interdisciplinaire de première ligne afin de multiplier leurs compétences générales et spécialisées ainsi que leurs perspectives de carrière, aussi bien au niveau national qu’international

Ce programme compte déjà le soutien et l’implication d’universités et de sociétés de biotechnologies au niveau européen et prévoit notamment l’optimisation du contenu des licences, Masters et Doctorats en Neurosciences.

Transfert de Technologies

DHUNE bénéficie du plein appui de partenaires industriels ainsi que de grandes sociétés pharmaceutiques (Ipsen, Sanofi) qui ont officiellement accepté de rejoindre l’initiative et font partie de son Conseil d’Experts.

Le programme a établi de solides liens avec la plupart des entreprises concernées par les maladies neurodégénératives dans les secteurs biomédical (Medtronic, Boston Scientific, Siemens, GE) et
pharmaceutique (Roche, Novartis, GSK, Servier, Teva, Astra Zeneca, Lundbeck, J & J, Boehringer Ingelheim, Eli Lilly). Ces collaborations à long terme favorisent le transfert de technologie, la mise à jour des programmes de formation, le lancement de nouveaux essais cliniques et accélère la mise sur le marché des dernières avancées technologiques.

DHUNE participe également au développement de nouveaux outils informatisés (interface web, applications mobiles) pour le diagnostic, la prise en charge et le traitement des maladies neurodégénératives.

Communication

DHUNE attache beaucoup d’importance à la communication auprès du grand public et des professionnels concernés par les maladies neurodégénératives. Son plan de communication annuel vise à mieux faire connaître ces maladies, et mettre en lumière les avancées de la recherche fondamentale comme les initiatives industrielles porteuses d’espoir pour les malades et leur entourage.